Page 1 of 2

Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:24 am
by TheFilipinoFGPilot
Newbie here, I heard that it takes 250GB to download this ( https://github.com/FGMEMBERS-TERRAGIT/terraGIT ), and since Philippines has crappy internet speeds, please teach me how can I download a specific tile (e.g. e120n10) in terragit and in github's website directly :)

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:54 am
by IAHM-COL
Hi

To get terraGIT you need git software, and do this

Code: Select all

git cone https://github.com/FGMEMBERS-TERRAGIT/terraGIT.git


That's all scenery, but it comes with no tiles installed.

Then you can use any script in the install directory to install any or all world.

https://github.com/FGMEMBERS-TERRAGIT/terraGIT/tree/master/install

Every install script has a corresponding deinstall script that can assist you with the removal of an area.

So, per example

you can find in that list of install scripts, there is one file named UK

so you can use

Code: Select all

cd terraGIT
install/UK


And get UK.

Notice there are several scripts per lat or lon, which allow you to install whole latitude or longitude strips

example

Code: Select all

install/lat-n00


Will get you every tile immediately north from equator
or

Code: Select all

install/lon-e070


will get you every tile immediately east of east 70 longitude.

More specifically, you want to look at this map:

http://ns334561.ip-5-196-65.eu/~fgscenery/WS2.0/scenery-2.0.1.html

And hover over any particular tile to know what correspoding tile you need.
See what is the file name that your browser points at.

By looking at this map, I notice that philipines is mostly within the tile e120n10, so , I can use the install/tile script which has a special usage

Direct answer to your question

Code: Select all

install/tile e120n10


You can update, terragit as follows

Code: Select all

git pull
git submodule update


This updates exactly what you have installed, without bothering about what you had not installed.


You can get the Whole World (as you point is a 250GB size)
but you clearly do not need that to begin with. And can get it by parts with more time.

Code: Select all

install/World



Finally,

Use any deinstall script to clear your scenery from terraGIT

example

Code: Select all

deinstall/tile e120n10


Will remove Philipines scenery from your hard drive


If you have more questions, do not doubt asking below.

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:03 am
by TheFilipinoFGPilot
How long does the cloning take? because it seems a bit long and I have to cancel it everytime the internet speed stalls 'cause it barely moves beyond 55000/60000 something or so, any estimated time or file size?

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:07 am
by IAHM-COL
I suggest be patient and let it finish. How long it will take depends on your speed mostly. One tile alone will vary from a few minutes to a couple of hours.

Some tiles are heavier.

Philippines tile should be not that large at all

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:11 am
by TheFilipinoFGPilot
I will try cloning it again at midnight (The time when Internet speeds reach 1-2 MBpS), Thanks for your solutions! :D :D

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 6:39 am
by SHM

Small typo, it should be git clone

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 6:42 am
by SHM
It you're on windows, use git bash to get the bash scripts working,

If it still doesn't work follow this : http://www.thejabberwocky.net/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=627

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:47 am
by TheFilipinoFGPilot
Oh, one question, Is it possible to download and install the scenery just by downloading the tiles inside the branches in Github.com/FGMEMBERS-TERRAGIT ?

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:03 am
by SHM
TheFilipinoFGPilot wrote:Oh, one question, Is it possible to download and install the scenery just by downloading the tiles inside the branches in Github.com/FGMEMBERS-TERRAGIT ?


You could download each branch in a tile (Terrain and Objects) and manually copy it to your scenery folder, but then whenever an update is made you will have to download the whole tile again.
If you use Git for that, you would need to download only the updates :D

SHM

Re: Newbie: How Do I Install only one scenery tile in Terragit

Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:27 am
by TheFilipinoFGPilot
Great to hear, then someone from the "official" forums said, nobody would want terragit beacuse it requires Git codes and sorts, there is a simply cheat way, they tend to make conclusions before knowing the truth.