Flightgear on Vatsim

Everything that has to do with the forum on a technical level. Logins, posts, formatting ...
D-ECHO
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:55 am

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby D-ECHO » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:50 pm

Wow :oops: it worked!! Thanks
However, when trying to connect, he says "set callsign first" (in SB747) where to set it? :D and what has to be done to connect fg to squawkgear?
[EDIT] Forget it, found it out, you have to fill in flightplan, right?

D-ECHO
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:55 am

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby D-ECHO » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:58 pm

Unfortunately connecting with SB747 after entering data into flightplan crashes the program

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:03 pm

D-ECHO wrote:What has to be done to connect fg to squawkgear?


Only enter callsign in sb747.
File flight plan here https://cert.vatsim.net/fp/file.php

Follow this http://wiki.flightgear.org/SquawkGear

User avatar
it0uchpods
Posts: 2091
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:47 am
Location: A far corner of my room.
Contact:

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby it0uchpods » Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:29 pm

Yup wine would be my guess.

But it still sucks. It will also suck that you can't follow a lot of ATC instruction.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FlightGear Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at the it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:08 pm

it0uchpods wrote:But it still sucks. It will also suck that you can't follow a lot of ATC instruction.

?

OPFOR77
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:30 pm

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby OPFOR77 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:10 pm

Assuming he means old nav data in flightgear
OPRF Fighter Jock and Dev

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:14 pm

Oh ok. I thought he meant the ATC comms.

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:15 pm

Here is the updated nav data
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=824#p15258

User avatar
it0uchpods
Posts: 2091
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:47 am
Location: A far corner of my room.
Contact:

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby it0uchpods » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:56 pm

Not only that, but: no sids no stars
Duplicate VOR names cause problems and crashes.
Most planes use unrealistic.

Scenery problems.
Altimeter setting problems.
More
it0uchpods/WTF411

FlightGear Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at the it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar

OPFOR77
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:30 pm

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby OPFOR77 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:06 pm

No SIDs/STARs really isn't that big of a deal. Just have the charts in front of you when you're flying to the airport, and put in the points manually (takes 30 seconds), or create the xml files by hand beforehand (which is a butt-ton of work, but possible).

Most planes use unrealistic... FDMs? If that's what you mean, then this isn't just limited to FlightGear.
OPRF Fighter Jock and Dev


Return to “Technical Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest