Flightgear on Vatsim

Everything that has to do with the forum on a technical level. Logins, posts, formatting ...
User avatar
it0uchpods
Posts: 2091
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:47 am
Location: A far corner of my room.
Contact:

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby it0uchpods » Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:02 am

@OPFOR77 is right falcon.
Everyone will see you as a 747, regardless of what you file.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FlightGear Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at the it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:23 am

it0uchpods wrote:FG has no SID/STAR.
Very old and missing waypoint data AIRAC.
Most planes unrealistic.

I don't see the point.

You know that you can use the Navigraph AIRAC in the level d767 xml format. Right?
After you get it you can use it directly for the A330 or you could rename it into ICAO.procedures.xml and put it in FGSCENERY/Airports
And with Israel's latest navdata update from the XPlane folks you get what the XPlane pilots use.

For people who don't have the money to get p3d/fsx/xplane and their addons can use FG and VATSIM :P

But at the end if you can afford, get P3d/fsx its really awesome. You've my word.

OPFOR77
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:30 pm

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby OPFOR77 » Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:30 am

I have a source of like ~500 non-NaviGraph xml files, which are public domain if I recall correctly.
OPRF Fighter Jock and Dev

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:32 am

OPFOR77 wrote:I have a source of like ~500 non-NaviGraph xml files, which are public domain if I recall correctly.

I've got a full set of the latest AIRAC 1610 data :lol:

User avatar
it0uchpods
Posts: 2091
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:47 am
Location: A far corner of my room.
Contact:

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby it0uchpods » Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:12 pm

Hmm. I have the LevelD 767. I'll give that a go.

Maybe I will use it's NavData format for my FMS.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FlightGear Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at the it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:18 pm

SHM wrote:
D-ECHO wrote:And is it possible on linux? (kubuntu)

Try with wine.

D-ECHO did you try it?
I know that omega has done it. :)
Image

D-ECHO
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:55 am

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby D-ECHO » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:26 pm

If you can give me /home/narendranm/.files/install/fgfs/squawkgear I'm happy to try it :P

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:29 pm

https://squawkgear.wordpress.com/ wrote:
If you run Linux, FreeBSD, MacOS or any other system with a working Python interpreter, grab the first package. If you run Windows, you probably do not have Python installed, so grab the second package instead.
In all cases, you need SB747 and AVC too.
NEW squawkgear_100528.zip (For all systems with python installed) Contains python scripts and required XML files.

D-ECHO
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:55 am

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby D-ECHO » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:36 pm

Ooops, you're right :oops: BUT the problem is how to get sb747 running, it says it only works for windows

User avatar
SHM
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 pm
Location: India

Re: Flightgear on Vatsim

Postby SHM » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:37 pm

Wine


Return to “Technical Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest