FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Everything that has to do with the forum on a technical level. Logins, posts, formatting ...
User avatar
jwocky
Site Admin
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:04 pm
Contact:

FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby jwocky » Thu May 05, 2016 10:52 pm

Hi,

I have FG 2016.1.1 and most things work. But I can't switch off AI. Every time, I try, FG crashes. If I switch off the check box in MP settings, same thing, immediate crash.
Any ideas? Those AI planes get really annoying.

J.
Free speech can never be achieved by dictatorial measures!

User avatar
legoboyvdlp
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:49 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu May 05, 2016 11:51 pm

It has been like that since at least 3.5.
~~Legoboyvdlp~~
Maiquetia / Venezuela Custom Scenery
Hallo! Ich bin Jonathan.
Hey!
Avatar created by InSapphoWeTrust CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.p ... d=27409879

User avatar
jwocky
Site Admin
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby jwocky » Fri May 06, 2016 12:01 am

So no solution in sight or a trick what to do with the configuration files?
Free speech can never be achieved by dictatorial measures!

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 5609
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri May 06, 2016 12:14 am

maybe if you remove your AI folder, then your local FG doesnt have more routes to use, and as a conclussion, even with AI on, you are clean-charted?

A very local solution to disable/delete/remove your AI files.

I think they are in

Code: Select all

$FG_ROOT/AI/Traffic


FG_Root is your FGDATA with submodules

Every directory counts for different airports' Traffic.

If you do that in your git repository consider commiting in your copy. Otherwise, you wont be able to keep pulling.
When someone make modifications on the AI, then you will need a more complex pulling then.

But that should solve it.
R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 5609
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri May 06, 2016 12:18 am

Just to clarify. If you dont want to delete that folder, a dirty trick is always rename. Example

Code: Select all

$FG_ROOT/AI/Traffic -> $FG_ROOT/AI/Traffic.disabled


and git commit

That way, you abuse Git capabilities of recognizing that you renamed the folder, if a pull needs to modify the original set.
R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall

User avatar
jwocky
Site Admin
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby jwocky » Fri May 06, 2016 12:35 am

Wouldn't I get with the next pull an new traffic folder? I try it after the flight (or I lose some flight hours right now ;-))
Free speech can never be achieved by dictatorial measures!

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 5609
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri May 06, 2016 12:37 am

No in any case.
But if you rename, I believe Git remembers what is the renamed folder, and includes changes on your renamed path as needed.

But FG will not understand that Traffic and Traffic.disable are the same path

Worth trying, I think
R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 5609
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri May 06, 2016 12:38 am

Rename, then In FG,. try Debug, reload AI traffic (maybe?)
That, perhaps you dont even need to log off your flight.
R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall

User avatar
jwocky
Site Admin
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby jwocky » Fri May 06, 2016 12:57 am

I reanmed the folder, but there was no "reload AI". Well, we will say what happens when I come in denser populated areas.
Free speech can never be achieved by dictatorial measures!

Lydiot
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:30 pm

Re: FG 2016 crashes when I switch off AI

Postby Lydiot » Fri May 06, 2016 9:45 pm

Crashes for me as well on 3.7. Only solution once it's on is to not be in a busy area with no AI loaded, and/or turn it off immediately upon spawning on runway/parking, before the planes load.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Return to “Technical Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest