Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Everything in connection with developing aircraft for FlightGear
sanhozay
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:59 pm

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby sanhozay » Fri Mar 25, 2016 1:50 pm

Let there be light ... unless you aren't using ALS. ;)

You might want to update again -- there's a dialog for the autopilot, and ALS procedural lights, plus some improvements to the cockpit for night flying.

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6413
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby IAHM-COL » Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:55 pm

Image

This is awesome! Thanks for so much great work G-SHOZ
Rolling my NDB tracking tests right now. Wish me straight :)

IH-COL

Note: It is noon, so I just falsified time for a minute to take the screenshot above. :P
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

sanhozay
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:59 pm

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby sanhozay » Sun Mar 27, 2016 1:57 am

Pushed a change with a new dialog with quick access to all lights, plus slider to control cockpit brightness. It is on the menu (Beagle Pup ~ Lights) :geek:

Image

sanhozay
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:59 pm

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby sanhozay » Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:36 pm

@IH-COL: I've pushed what will probably be the last changes before your tour flight:

1. Fuel gauge: Note that this shows one tank only. Eventually it will have a switch to switch to show left/right tank but at the moment it's just a guide to your overall fuel level.

2. Several temperature gauges that you can safely ignore.

3. Updated EGT gauge: Usual method applies, i.e. 75*F rich of peak EGT, and this should come out near the asterisk on the gauge.

4. Flap indicator: next to the autopilot control unit. This will eventually sit on the centre pedestal but I've stuck it here for now. Vfe is 100kts.

On the exterior, the wheels now turn but I ran into difficulties with the scissors on the nose gear. Don't worry if it looks like it's falling apart. ;)

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6413
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby IAHM-COL » Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:45 pm

Thanks G-SHOZ
I rebased and updated FGMEMBERS'
The Beagle is way more mature of an aircraft I've ever dreamt of

Thanks for all the updates these last weeks.

IH-COL
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

sanhozay
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:59 pm

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby sanhozay » Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:43 pm

I polished it ;)

Image

Reflection shader requires View - Rendering Options - Shader Effects - Performance set to 1 or more. Or you can control it through Shader Effects - Custom Settings - Model set to something other than minimum.

Gear scissors are also fixed and, to my surprise, rotating the wheels to get the gear compression was quite simple. You'll see what I mean when you fly it -- watch the wheels angle inward and outward.

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6413
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:47 pm

sanhozay wrote:OK. I wonder if the C337 exhibits the same problem for you, given that it uses the exact same code for the DME?

If it does, and if you have time, and it bothers you enough, you could try adding print statements inside the constructor in:

https://github.com/FGMEMBERS/Beagle-Pup ... /KN62A.nas

So, between lines 60 and 106, every few lines, add print statements with different letters, so like this:

Code: Select all

print("A");
... some code here
print("B");

Then watch the output in your console and see which step takes the time.



Hi Sanhozay

Here is the debug code I tested with and the report of where the code lags

https://github.com/FGMEMBERS/Beagle-Pup/commit/f918cf0e5ccb6a27447450f9135009e46296e9b1
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

sanhozay
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:59 pm

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby sanhozay » Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:08 pm

Good job! It looks like this library function is causing the delay:

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Nasal_librar ... ange.28.29

If you open up a Nasal console in Flightgear, go to one of the windows and try this:

Code: Select all

print("Finding airports ...");
findAirportsWithinRange(60);
print("Found airports");

I suspect it will produce the delay you see in the C337 and Pup. The question is whether this is a quirk of using Terrafs. You might try smaller numbers for the range and see how it affects the time taken.

(The reason you removed the delay by removing the DME is that you created Nasal errors that stopped the transponder loading. In the Pup, if you delete the line that has KT76A.new on it (the transponder), the delay probably goes away without breaking the DME).

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6413
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:29 pm

yes. It does produce the delay. I tried 60 first, it takes a while to print "Found"
Then it will be almost immediate to find Airports within the same or any smaller range lookup. But if I increase the range, then it will delay again.

I agree with you, the fact that the Airport directory gets transferred all (as oppose to be already available via terrafs) seems to be the culprit of the lag.

I wonder whether launching again (after loading once) will be a more fast launching, or whether it releases VFS and needs to "find" airports again.

You are correct; if I disconnect the transponder, it launches just fine (fast)
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6413
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: Beagle Pup Development [crossposted]

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:29 pm

IAHM-COL wrote:I wonder whether launching again (after loading once) will be a more fast launching, or whether it releases VFS and needs to "find" airports again.


No. It lags again, after closing and relaunching :) :ugeek: :ugeek:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?


Return to “Aircraft Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests