[HOWTO] Update my copy of FGDATA next with submodules

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6409
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

[HOWTO] Update my copy of FGDATA next with submodules

Postby IAHM-COL » Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:54 pm

Hi ALL

This comes everytime.

Let's assume you already have a copy of FGDATA next with submodules, but some planes got updated. How do you bring them to the latest version?

A. Always pull your repository

Go to the directory of your fgdata and pull

Code: Select all

git pull


B. Update the submodules you initialized previously
There is no point to update aircrafts before completing step A above!!


Code: Select all

git submodule update


Aircraft non-GPL does not update like this (unless you use the --recursive mode)

To update non-GPL aircraft

Code: Select all

git submodule update Aircraft-nonGPL
cd Aircraft-nonGPL
git submodule update


New Aircraft?

These need to be initialized if you want to install them, example

Code: Select all

cd Aircraft-nonGPL
git submodule init Goose
git submodule update Goose


Initializing ALL aircraft

Code: Select all

git submodule init .


Updating ALL aircraft -- previously initialized and not

Code: Select all

git submodule init .
git submodule update
cd Aircraft-nonGPL
git submodule init .
git submodule update
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6409
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO] Update my copy of FGDATA next with submodules

Postby IAHM-COL » Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:59 pm

Briefly:

Updating ALL aircraft -- previously initialized and not

Code: Select all

git pull
git submodule init .  #this takes care of initializing all aircraft
git submodule update
cd Aircraft-nonGPL
git submodule init . #this takes care of initializing all aircraft
git submodule update
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6409
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO] Update my copy of FGDATA next with submodules

Postby IAHM-COL » Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:00 pm

Updating only aircraft you previously initialized

Code: Select all

git pull
git submodule update
cd Aircraft-nonGPL
git submodule update
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

User avatar
IAHM-COL
Posts: 6409
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO] Update my copy of FGDATA next with submodules

Postby IAHM-COL » Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:04 pm

The greater power under your belt

You don't like typing? are you typo-prone?

Update and initialize ALL submodules recursively

As the title says, this command will bring you a utterly complete FGDATA with full library updated

Code: Select all

git pull
git submodule update --init --recursive


Explanation: update will update your submodules
-- init : Initializes everything
-- recursive: does this recursively (example; no need to take care of Aircraft-nonGPL separately!

Update and initialize YOUR submodules recursively

As the title says, this command will bring your FGDATA updated. It will not attempt to initialize aircraft you had not previously declared to.

Code: Select all

git pull
git submodule update  --recursive


Explanation: It is the same commands as above, but skips initializing!
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IAHM-COL/gpg-pubkey/master/pubkey.asc

R.M.S.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it?

User avatar
jwocky
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO] Update my copy of FGDATA next with submodules

Postby jwocky » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:24 pm

If 3.6 ever comes out, I think to change my whole system and put it all on FGDATA/submodules. But then, this will be a two days mess till everything runs again (like every FG version, I assume, the joystick configurations will die again), some new libraries will come in, the tool of incompatibility will get some new teeth and so on. I guess, FGDATA/submodules will be the only part running without problems.
Free speech can never be achieved by dictatorial measures!


Return to “FGMEMBERS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests